2013: One of the Best

e5abaa58e37846d54b64f5fdc7b937d3

Well, tomorrow is the last day of 2013 and, like most, I’m reflecting on the past year and looking forward to the year ahead. Unlike most, I can jog my memory for what actually happened in 2013 by reading my own blog.

And, I have to say, I’m quite pleased with the past year.

However, when I got to my New Year’s Resolution list for 2013 to see what I could cross off, I realized I didn’t make one. Gasp!

In the year that I bought a new house, vacationed in Mexico, hosted a Circus Party for my one-year old, saw Hillary Clinton speak, lost all feeling in my leg but then got it back, and then trained for and ran in the New York City Marathon, I didn’t set out to achieve anything.

I’m not really sure how to process this.

List-lover that I am, it doesn’t make sense that I accomplished anything without first writing it down. And yet, I can say that 2013 was probably one of the best year’s of my life. In fact, I really don’t know what to put on a list for 2014 because I’m not sure it can get much better.

Aside from my own achievements, this year was also the year my middle sister got married and my littlest sister got engaged. My dearest friends welcomed a new baby and we moved within a half-mile of each other. My brother moved across the country twice and is expecting a little boy next spring.

And the greatest news of all, my dad was diagnosed with stage 3 throat and tongue cancer and beat ithe is now 100% cancer free.

Yes, 2013 was full of surprise, blessings, change, and growth. You know, my spouse always says that 13 is his lucky number. It was his soccer jersey number when he was a kid and, oddly enough, both of the houses we’ve owned have had 13 in the address. After the year we’ve had, I think he’s right.

Let’s hope my soccer jersey number from when I was young, 14, will prove to be as good to us! I have a sneaking suspicion things are going to be great in 2014…. but more on that later.

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope you enjoy celebrating 2013 and have a wonderful 2014!

Image Source.
2 thoughts on “2013: One of the Best

Leave a Reply

