Thankful Monday: Thank You Notes

Well, today I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Great way to start off the week of Thanksgiving, let me tell ya.

Instead of counting blessings and giving thanks (which I was literally doing as I went to bed last night so, like, what happened??), I muttered angry phrases at other horrible drivers, yelled at my pug, and couldn’t stop thinking of my seemingly countless failings in life.

Obviously, this is not how I want this day or week of Thanks to go down. And, I am aware that I have more than most to be thankful for and I can’t let a case of the Mondays ruin today or any other day this week. So, I tried to cheer up… and failed.

Christmas music. Check. An inspiring email from my little sister. Check. A lot of coffee. Check, check, check. Better mood? Nope. What can be done with this awful mood!?!?!

Determined to feel thankful, I dove into a stack of thank you notes I’ve been meaning to write to everyone who contributed to my NYC Marathon Charity – the Jackson Gabriel Silver Foundation.

And, guess what? I finally feel better. I feel more thankful. By choosing to spread gratitude and harnessing the feelings of deep, deep appreciation I have for everyone who supported me throughout the four months of long runs, fundraising and one incredible race, I actually changed my mood.

I feel grateful and ready for the week. I’m motivated to do my work. I’m motivated to host our Thanksgiving visitors. I’m especially motivated for tonight’s run. Even better, I’m determined to fix those nagging failings and stressors I was focused on this morning.

So, if you’re struggling to find a reason to be thankful, pull out a stack of thank you notes and write a few to some deserving people in your life. I think it’ll help you find a lot to be thankful for and will help make your week of Thanksgiving that much more fulfilling.

Happy Thanksgiving week!! What are you thankful for?

eb8f19c7bb6f32cb9bfce921c015617fImage Source.

Leave a Reply

