Thankful Thursday: Fast Friends

You know when someone comes into your life and you are instantly attached to them? It’s like you can’t really remember what it was like before you were friends? Has that happened to you? One day, no relation. The next, BFF?

I’ve been fortunate enough to have a handful of friends that I’ve had instant connections with over the years. One weekend in New Jersey (while visiting family), we met a long-time family friend’s sister (for the first time ever). We were all shocked by how easily she meshed with our zany crew. Next thing I knew, I had invited her to my wedding and she was making out with my cousin.

Or, even further back, I was starting my second year of rugby. My close friend and I were asked to pick a rookie to take under our wing. We took one look at the newest rugger in the line-up and said, “HER!” Insta-friends and still going strong.

Once, at a networking event, I learned all about one person’s family and passions within minutes. Years later, I’m still following their journey and non-profit work.

Another time, I was at a post-wedding party and the wife of high school classmate and I met for the first time. We spent the entire evening laughing. She called me the next day and asked me out on a friend date. We went to happy hour. And we’ve been laughing and knocking back cocktails ever since.

On the flip-side, I am so very fortunate to have friends with whom I’ve slowly built very strong relationships (I love them so much I have to be sure they know I’m thinking of them right now). My dearest friends and I get to see each other very frequently and text and call in between visits regularly. We all go way back to college and high school and I’m pretty sure started out as “fast friends” over card games and Key Light. You know who you are. ;)

But today, I’m writing about those very special folks who I became friends with in an instant. Even though we don’t get to see each other as often as we’d like, we always pick right up where we left off.  We usually have to catch up on who’s working where, relationship status, and how the kids are doing – since our visits are so few and far between. But, it’s amazing how easy it is to share that information without feeling boastful and how eager I am to hear about their lives.

Last week, I had an amazing visit (and wished her luck on a big move) to my fast friend who asked me out. And today, I had lunch with one of my favorite rugger rookies.

On today’s Thankful Thursday, I am so very thankful for those fast friends that have become life-long friends.

Happy Thankful Thursday! What are you thankful for?

ImageImage Source.

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Fast Friends

  1. I definetly have those friends I’ve met at random events that have blossomed into life long friendships. Love that. I am thankful for the smell of dinner cooking, today’s sweaty workout and a happy home. Xo, Fancy

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree ”July, the CAREFREE Girl” | Nizy's Life Compendium

Leave a Reply

