His First Haircut

Little man had a baby mullet.

It’s true.

I didn’t want to admit it, but he did. It was short and sweet in the front but cascaded down the back … Like a Kentucky waterfall, I’m told.

The thing is, I couldn’t bring myself to cut it. I bought some hair-cutting shears, plopped him down in front of me on a stool, held his soft golden locks between my fingers, and picked up the newly purchased scissors.

And I couldn’t bring myself to snip.

Oh! His sweet baby hairs! How could I let them go!?

I let him run off to play and told myself lies about how it was fine if he had a mullet. He was a baby and could totes pull it off. Right?

Wrong.

The spouse, who was disappointed to see a party-in-the-back of my son’s head after the failed trim attempt, told me to take him to a salon or he would cut it himself.

And so to Cool Cuts 4 Kids we went.

I was a little skeptical of the place at first, but my happy dude had a blast. He rode in a train car, rang a bell and watched Sesame Street while a cheery stylist fluttered around his head with surprising speed and agility.

In a matter of minutes, hundreds of tiny blonde hairs surrounded him on the floor and my tiny guy had a proper cut.

Now, this is going to come as a surprise: I didn’t cry. I know. Who’s tough? This mom.

I did, however, request that they keep a lock of it for me (it’s in a bag I’ll save forever).

Here’s the sweet boy all ready for his first haircut! I just had capture one last shot of his long locks pre-chop.

6a38bb00049511e397bf22000a1f9263_7

Here’s to his first cut! He’s just growing up too fast!

Leave a Reply

