New Fave Brew: Ruthless Rye

399488_10150577166363974_637533973_10938123_2036289353_n

I may have mentioned this before: I’m something of a hop-head.

Citra, Simcoe, Cascade, Chinook … I love ’em. So, it comes as no surprise that IPA’s are my go-to brew.

But, this year, I stumbled across a style of beer that I wasn’t familiar with at the Great American Beer Festival: Rye IPA’s.

Wowza.

My first taste of a rye was at Firestone Walker’s booth. We tried the Wookey Jack Black Rye IPA. It was love at first sip. The spicy hops balanced with a roasty, dry rye. Yum. Yum.

Since GABF, the spouse and I have kept our eyes peeled for rye beers to taste. One night the spouse bought my new favorite (and has been back to the store many times for more): Sierra Nevada’s Ruthless Rye.

Spicy, hoppy, balanced, dry, warm … it’s about as close to a perfect winter brew as I can imagine. And, unfortunately, that’s just what it is … a winter seasonal. So, don’t wait too long to try it! At the rate I’m going, they’ll be out soon. ;)

Give the Rye a try and definitely let me know what you think!

Are you a beer drinker? What’s your favorite brew right now? Does it change with the season?

P.S. Sierra Nevada is one awesome brewery and two of our home-brewing buds got to got to Beer Camp with them. Try what they made at camp – the limited release Simmer Down Brown – at the Pints 4 Paws event in Cheyenne, WY on February 8th!

Image Source.
3 thoughts on “New Fave Brew: Ruthless Rye

  1. Pingback: BrewDog Zeitgeist | More Beer For Me

Leave a Reply

