Resolution Run: Pacing Problems

Hello friends!

We’re officially one week into the new year! How are your resolutions going? I am sure you’re all exceeding your own expectations.

To kick off the new year and get myself back in shape, I participated in a New Year’s Day 5k. It was a pretty good run … but freezing. I think the it was something like 13 degrees outside. Chilly.  Thankfully the race organizers are awesome and they gave out running headbands to keep our ears warm (instead of t-shirts). I was already wearing a headband … so I wore both. It.was.cold.

Here’s me with a big ol’ cheesy pre-race grin:

Running

You may think I was cold because I wore running knickers instead of pants. You’re right. But enough about the weather.

For not having trained for the race, I’m pretty pleased over all. I completed the 5k in 25:18 minutes (breakdown below). I think I ran fast because I knew they were handing out mimosas at the end of the course (or because I was cold).

  • Mile 1: 7:55 min
  • Mile 2: 8:16 min
  • Mile 3.1: 9:05 min

I definitely made some ‘I haven’t run in three months’ pacing mistakes. As you can see from my splits, I was a little overzealous on mile 1 and proceeded to get slower and slower. I tried to really kill it on the last mile and just didn’t have any juice left. Looking at my mileage is good motivation to keep up my training, even without another race on the horizon until March. I definitely don’t want to make the same mistake again.

How about you guys … any races completed in the new year? How do you pace yourself?

Leave a Reply

