I am Santa (& You Can Be, too)

This year, I get to be Santa. That’s right, for the first time ever, I get to stay up late, hide presents under the tree, and eat the cookies that my little dude will leave out for the big man and his reindeer (if Barley doesn’t get to ’em first). If there was one moment I’ve been looking forward to since my tiny man arrived, it’s the look on his face on Christmas morning. I absolutely cannot wait.

However, recent events have shifted my enthusiasm for Christmas to concern for society. I’m not going to dive into opinion about laws that should or should not be changed or better ways to help the mentally ill. These discussions need to happen in a greater forum than this and need to produce results that I don’t feel we can accomplish here.

However, we can accomplish something.  Last year, I told you all that I still believe in Santa. And I believe in him because there is the potential within all of us to give selflessly to spread love and hope to others. We can all be Santa; even if we’re not financially able to give gifts, we can give kindness.

That said, I’ve seen a lot of people posting their plans to go forward with the 26 Random Acts of Kindness, which I think is a beautiful gesture to fill our aching society with snippets of love. I urge all of you who read this blog to consider participating in this activity and if you can’t commit to doing 26 different acts, please keep the spirit of this gesture in your heart and spread any number of random acts of kindness you can. You never know how just one simple act of kindness may help spread the love and peace our world so desperately needs.

And if you are in a position to give financially or to give your time and would like to give directly to those most affected in Sandy Hook and Newtown, CT, please visit this article. Found via one of my favorite blogs.

Last, please remember that there are many still suffering in the northeast due to Hurricane Sandy. For a list of resources to help them, I think this is a great article of information.

Give whatever you can – kindness, prayer, love, money, possessions, or time. And please encourage your children to do the same. We all have the power to be Santa this holiday season and in the many years to come.

courage-for-week-12212

Image via Polish My Crown via 320 Sycamore
One thought on “I am Santa (& You Can Be, too)

  1. Great post! I can’t wait to be Santa either (next year, when Rosie will understand better), even though I totally believe in him too! Being Santa isn’t just about the presents either. I think too much emphasis on material things is part of society’s problem. Being Santa is about the Christmas spirit as well. I really relate to your post!

Leave a Reply

