Where Are You, Runner’s High?

Nearly a month ago, I did road race. It was #5 of my Summer List items and I’m glad to say I got to cross it off before the Fall Solstice.

The race was the Crossroads 5k here in Fort Collins. I was supposed to do the half-marathon but I wasn’t ready for 13.1 miles so I had to settle for 3.2. It was a pretty decent run, I finished in 26:46 minutes. Certainly not a PR, but not a terrible time given my current workout regime.

(I forgot to take a picture at the race so here’s me training for it. I take pics of myself while running…I’m a weirdo.)

So… my current workout regime. Here’s the thing, I’ve really been struggling to get on a regular training schedule these days. Between work, the little guy, and whatever else I do all day (still trying to figure out exactly what that is), I just can’t seem to get a routine started.

I still love to run and I want to be in better shape but I keep failing to actually go on a jog. I can’t seem to wake up before work to sweat out a run. I rarely get to take a lunch break these days and, if I do, the only running I do is running errands. And, by the time my little man goes to sleep, I’m way too wiped out to get moving in the evening.

I know, I know. I’m just making excuses…. I’ve always thought if something was truly a priority that you make time for it. But, as much as I swear I want to, I regularly choose reading a book or watching tv over running these days.

How can I break these habits and get back to my runner’s high!? I miss it! I need my endorphins! I miss the stress release! But, there’s more…..

I miss being myself. I don’t believe being a mom means giving up who you are, but somehow I’ve let go of two of the biggest things that defined me pre-baby, which was running and blogging. I don’t really know who I am without those pieces and yet they seem to be the two things that I can’t squeeze into the day.

Today, I’m writing a blog and I’m going to go for a run (on my lunch break). And tomorrow, I’m going to do it again. And the next day and the next (although I probably won’t post the blogs until next week) because I have to get these critical elements of me back! It’s important for my well-being which ultimately impacts the little guy’s well-being.

So, if any of you busy runners have advice on how to get back into a good training program or if my lovely blogging friends have tips on how to keep writing when the words don’t come very easily, I’d love to hear it!

Thanks for reading my self-indulgent post and have a great weekend!

P.S. If you were keeping up with the Simple Summer List – I didn’t manage to go on a bike ride (unless you count my stationary bike), get to a pool, or buy a swimsuit. Blarrgh. But, we did squeeze in home-made ice cream (#4)….it was everything I’d imagined it be.

Leave a Reply

