Domestically-Challenged Mom Celebrates 5 Months

Four months ago, I took a picture of the little man to celebrate his one-month birthday. I had decided to dress him in one of the adorable tie onesies that my Martha-Stewart-channeling friend, Jesse, had made him. She had made four different onesies in size 0-3 months and 3-6 months (’cause she’s good like that).

At the time, being all new-mom-excited, I thought I’d make the eight additional onesies needed to take photos every month of his first year. I figured, I had four months of gifted onesies, plenty of time to craft the new ones, right?

I think you can guess what happened.

I didn’t make new onesies. And, sure as baby poop, here we are at month five.

So, what happened? Time fly by too fast? Nah. Balancing a busy life take over? Nope.

The truth? Every time I think about trying to cut a tie-shaped piece of patterned fabric and affixing it with needle and thread to another piece of fabric, I become a little twitchy. Just slightly anxious. My Type-A mind gets nervous at the thought of using my clumsy hands to produce anything I’d dress my child in. I can visualize the fabric, cut into an unidentifiable asymmetric shape, trembling in my fingertips while I prick myself from looping thread through a baby tee. It’s a big ol’ mess. And no, I do not have a sewing machine (the idea of shoving fabric through a needle-wielding-jack-hammer instills even more fear).

So now that my little dude isn’t so little and the smaller sizes no longer fit, what do I do to take a tie picture?

I cut the sleeves off, tucked the ‘onesie’ part into a pair of shorts, and ‘Voila!’ A whole new baby look.

Normally I’m not a fan of short-sleeves with a tie, but I think we can make an exception here.

Crafty? No. Resourceful? Maybe.

In the end, it doesn’t really matter because this kiddo would look cute in a potato sack.

It’s already been five months since he arrived and I still I can’t believe this little guy is mine. His giggle, his sparkling eyes, and his smile bring us joy every minute of the day. Even though I can’t sew (or really do much of any homemaker-type activities) this little man doesn’t care. And he lets me know he loves me despite my domestic flaws with his sweet baby coos, his little hugs, and his happy face.

Happy 5 Months, sweetheart!

Check out months 1, 2, 3, 4.

4 thoughts on “Domestically-Challenged Mom Celebrates 5 Months

Leave a Reply

