Share Good News

You know what my favorite part of the news is?

Besides Brian Williams. (You know you love him. Everyone loves him. “If you and Brian Williams both called your dog, your dog would run to Brian Williams.” Quote Source.)

My favorite part of the news is the last five minutes, the “Make a Difference” segment. It is, quite often, the only positive moment of the whole show.

5 minutes of good news? Out of 30? Hmmmm….

I’m just gonna throw it all on the table here. Lately, I’ve been consumed with anxiety. I’m afraid. I’ve started to expect the worst when the phone rings. I jump to the worst conclusions. I’m seeing the cup as half-empty. I read too far into things. I point out the negative first. I react with anger, tears, or some kind of defense mechanism to stressful situations. Upon hearing the news about the movie theater shooting on Friday, I wanted to hide from the world, hide from the news, hide from everything.

I thought I was going crazy.

My blog friend, Linda, somehow described exactly what I’ve been feeling in her blog post about the shooting in Colorado. My heart is broken for the victims, the families of the victims, and all those affected by this horrible tragedy.

But, my anxiety has been building up for a while. It’s been going on for several weeks, maybe even months, now.

Everywhere I look these days, I see bad news. Maybe my worldview has changed since having a baby? Maybe my anxiety is stemming from a touch of postpartum blues or, at the least, from postpartum hormones surging through my system? Maybe I, the eternal optimist, am becoming a pessimist?

Or perhaps, the real culprit is that we are being inundated with difficult, heartbreaking news.

Between magazine covers, newsstands, TV, and social media, we are constantly being told what’s happening in the world. Which is good, it’s important to know what’s going on and good to be informed. But, much like the nightly news, the good stuff is represented by only a fraction of the headlines.

So, I want to change the news.

I want to live in a place where we get reports on just as much happy news as sad news. I want my Twitter stream to lift me up, not drag me down. I don’t only want to know when the unthinkable happens, I want to know when impossible hurdles are overcome. I don’t want to only hear about a break-in or robbery, I want to see a story about a local business thriving. I want to see posts online giving thanks for the little things that we take for granted and the good energy we each possess.

Good news can be the news. The other day, my Junior League posted a wonderful idea on their Facebook page asking members to share good news to send out some positive energy and lift spirits. I love this idea…so I’m grabbing on to the trend. AND starting a hashtag: #sharegoodnews

I would like to encourage you all to post whatever good things happen to you or to people, businesses, and communities you know. Tell the world that there is still a lot of good out there. Post it on your Facebook, use the hashtag to share on Twitter, and write blog posts to tell your good news.

And, if you don’t have a blog of your own, send me your story via the contact page and I’ll post it on my blog for you.

We can change our outlook. We can change our world. We can change the news. And we can give that lovable Brian Williams all sorts of happy things to talk about.

One thought on “Share Good News

Leave a Reply

