Thankful Thursday: Freedom

Being that yesterday was our nation’s birthday and a celebration of our independence, I thought taking a moment to give thanks for the freedom we all enjoy would be appropriate.

I am so very thankful to be free. I am thankful to live in a place where women have just as many opportunities to succeed as men. I am thankful that food is not only available, it is bountiful. I am thankful that I can walk out the door in 3-inch heels, a strapless dress, or 5-inch shorts and no one (besides my mom) can make me change.

I am thankful that I sleep each night without fear. I’m thankful to live in a country that doesn’t dictate what religion I should be. I am so thankful for the right to make choices about who to marry, what to say, where to live, and what lifestyle best suits me. I am thankful for clean water and clean air. I am thankful for national parks and federal holidays.

I am thankful for the post office who is replacing my mailbox lock because I lost the key. I’m thankful for the DMV even though I hate going there. I am proud that my passport says ‘United States of America’ (and I even like the picture I took for it).

I am thankful that my grandfather was given a 21-gun salute at his funeral and that my grandmother has Old Glory to keep in memory of his service and beautiful life.

I am thankful that prohibition was overturned all those years ago….like, really, really thankful. I’m thankful for Title IX and the sports I enjoyed as a youth. I am thankful for the right to vote and proud to have grown up in the Equality State.

I’m so very grateful that I’ve stood on American soil while facing the Atlantic; facing the Pacific; staring up at the biggest buildings I’ve ever seen; and gazing over a valley from the tallest mountain I’ve ever been on. I am thankful that I’ve been able to visit our nation’s capital.

I am so very thankful to the many men and women whose service and sacrifice has made it possible for us to be free.

Happy Thankful Thursday! Be sure to say thank you to active or past service men and women any opportunity you get.

via
Leave a Reply

