Twelve Weeks…One Blink

Yesterday, I returned to work full-time.

You know what that means? It means my little man is twelve weeks old. Twelve Weeks!

I can’t believe it.

Wasn’t it just yesterday that he was breathing his first breath? Wasn’t it just a moment ago that I first looked into his perfectly blue eyes? It seems like it’s been just one heartbeat since I first heard his tiny cry.

Before he arrived, I was terrified. I didn’t know how I’d manage sleepless nights and baby cries. I couldn’t imagine operating day-to-day around a two-hour feeding schedule. I didn’t quite believe I’d be capable of taking care of another person. But then, somehow, it just happened.

Although some days were long and the nights were even longer, the minutes of baby smiles and coos flew by. And now, in just twelve short weeks, I feel like I’ve completely forgotten what life was like for the 31 years before March 6th, 2012. I just can’t imagine life without this little guy.

Baby Boy

While I’m sad and feeling a little bittersweet that my time at home with my little one is over, I’m excited at what the future will bring. I’m curious to see what working and being a mom will be like. I’m wondering how often I’ll go for a run, bake yummy treats, or sneak away for a drink with the girls – and how often I’ll opt to snuggle with him instead.

Right now, I’m not sure I’ll be able to balance life between raising my tiny family, volunteering, working and spending time with friends….but I’m excited to try. The last twelve weeks surprised and awed me. And I can’t wait to find out what’s in store for us….I just hope it doesn’t go by too fast.

P.S. Thanks for allowing me a short break from blogging on my last days of maternity leave. It all started with this last post and we’ve enjoyed a whirlwind 10 days since then. I’ll be sure to fill you in on all the fun we had over the next week or so.

Leave a Reply

