Thankful Thursday: Sweatin’ It

Earlier this week, I was given the thumbs up by my doctor to finally start exercising again! Woot Woot! A little background: I stopped working out somewhere around my 37th week of pregnancy and was instructed to do nothing but walk or pick up the baby since having the little dude….which was seven weeks ago.

So, in total, I’ve gone at least ten weeks without a sweat session which is the longest break in physical activity I’ve had in….hmmm…maybe forever? Despite the freshman 15 (that hung on for a lot longer than freshman year) and my beer-guzzling weekends in college, I played rugby and managed to workout every now and then (even if it wasn’t consistent). Going back further, high school and junior high were full of sports. Surprisingly, this is the longest I’ve ever not worked out. Woah.

So, ten weeks and…… not sure if I ever divulged the awesome total to you all, but on the day my baby boy was born, I had gained a total of 44 pounds. 44 POUNDS! Yeah. That’s, like, a first grader. I gave birth to a first grader. Oh, wait. I didn’t…..he was only 8lbs 7.5oz. So…uhm, what’s the deal with the other 35.5lbs? I guess that’s where all those egg nog lattes went.

Ten weeks, 44 lbs, countless egg nog lattes. I’ve got a lot of work to do. Although, I have to admit that most of it has shed itself over the past seven weeks. My little dude keeps me pretty busy and I thank the heavens for the energy I had to keep up physical activity while pregnant as I’ve lost all but the last six pounds. However, I was six pounds heavier than I should have been before I got knocked up, so I really need to lose twelve pounds. And it’s a stubborn twelve pounds and it all resides on my midsection.

Twelve pounds in the donut roll? (Read: my family’s catchy little name for the ring o’ fat around the waist.) Yeah. Buh-Bye bikinis! As if I ever wore a bikini before, I’m way to self-conscious for that. At this point I should probably be saying farewell to swimsuits entirely….but I have goals. And those goals include palm trees, ocean breezes (I think that’s the name of a cocktail, if not, add beachy-sounding cocktails) and swimwear.

So, needless to say, I’m anxious to get back on the workout wagon. I absolutely cannot wait to lace up my running shoes but, in a weird twist of fatty fate, I’m suffering a cold this week and probably shouldn’t push the cardio. Puh. Too excited to wait any longer, I busted out my yoga DVD and got work with it yesterday. It was everything I’d hoped it’d be. In fact, it was more. This may be a whole different post, but I’m digging ‘mama and baby’ yoga. It’s fun…and the little guy seems to like it, too.

One day of exercise complete and, despite this stuffy head, I’m already feeling back to myself. And I’m excited about the activities to come. I have visions of myself being all super-yogini and, like, balancing on one finger with my legs twisted in the air while radiating some kind of calming essence. Or of being the fastest mom ever to run. Ever.

Hey, visualization is important. But let’s be realistic, those things likely won’t happen. Regardless, I’m super thankful to be able to run, do yoga, and get back to feeling like myself again. On today’s Thankful Thursday, I am thankful for exercise! Enjoy your day and bust out a little shweaty-sesh if you can!

Me. Post-marathon 2010. I will feel like this again. I will feel like this again.

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Sweatin’ It

  1. omg stacey i CANNOT stop laughing at your post! I love this, i love your motivation, and i love the way your wrote it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

