Welcoming Baby

Two weeks ago today everything changed. On March 6, 2012, our little baby boy arrived at 11:56pm weighing in a 8lbs 7.5oz and 19.5 inches long! It was the most intense and surprising day of my life.

It started like any other Tuesday. I was running late to a doctor’s appointment, my hair was all over the place, and I was trying to do my makeup and drive at the same time (which I’ve since given up). I arrived at the appointment ten minutes late and took a seat while mentally preparing for a discussion about the options we’d have to consider if I went beyond 40 weeks of pregnancy (at that time I was 39 weeks and 4 days).

A quick exam by the doc was followed by the words, “You’re having a baby today!” And as I sat up in shock, I felt my water break. This was no cute scene from Sex and the City where an unlucky pair of Manolo’s gets ruined or Big gets told off by a polka-dot clad Charlotte. Oh no. Let’s just say tv and movies lie about what really goes down in the moments after the bag of waters explodes.

The next sentence was, “You need to go to the hospital.” Well, more water was shed but this time from my eyeballs. I picked up the phone and called my spouse, my mom and a close friend (who happens to be a labor and delivery nurse) and through sobs of fear, excitement, and overwhelming emotion, I spit out the words, “I’m in labor and going to the hospital.”

Fourteen (yes, 14) hours later, I still had no baby. I won’t get into the gruesome details but the decision was made to do a c-section and I was wheeled off to the operating room with a team of doctors, nurses, and an incredibly gifted anesthesiologist behind me. Ten minutes into surgery, I heard my baby cry.

I peeked up over the screen and saw my baby boy for the very first time. Emotion took over and I cried in relief, love, and thankfulness. Minutes later my spouse was holding my blue-eyed boy who was blinking at me with a classic “What just happened?” expression on his face.

New Life
A very proud Daddy

The hours and days that followed were the most exhausting and exciting days of my life. Three days after his arrival, we took our tiny man home and introduced him to the dogs, then settled in and welcomed family and friends to meet our little guy. I’d like to say the story ends there, but unfortunately it does not.

Mom and Baby

On Tuesday of the following week, my little guy’s one week birthday, I was readmitted to the hospital for another four days thanks to an infection from my surgery. Not fun. After four days of IV antibiotics, one allergic reaction to said antibiotics, several temperature reads, and countless hospital meals I finally got to home for the second time.

Smooth sailing? No. Perfect outcome? Yes. I couldn’t be more smitten with my baby boy. I won’t attempt to describe the unconditional love I’ve become consumed with – true love feels different for everyone and I’m sure you’ve experienced it yourself in one form or another. But I will say that from the moment he first cried, I felt like I’d always known him.

In a strange way, he’s always been a part of our family. As soon as I met him, I knew him as if we were old friends; previously separated souls who had finally been reunited. The ease with which he joined our family and took over our hearts was surprisingly seamless and brought feelings that I’ll always fail to articulate accurately.

On the flip side, getting used to living with a newborn has not been as seamless…..but we’ll leave the sleepless nights, constant worry, and hundreds of diapers for a different day.

So, I am pleased to introduce our baby boy! Welcome home, my handsome son!

Our sweet little boy. Taken by Elaine Connolly (Grandma).
14 thoughts on “Welcoming Baby

  1. I just loved your post. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story. Your little boy is perfect and I (we) are so happy for you& John. This is an amazing time…enjoy every minute.

    Love, Hugs & Kisses

    Aunt Jo & Uncle Mark

  2. Wow, what an experience! I was almost in tears at the end of your post from the emotion…glad to hear you are home now and enjoying each moment with your little boy. I can’t wait to meet our son on Monday morning. Look forward to catching up with you when things settle down a bit. Congrats on your beautiful new addition and big hugs!

  3. So so happy for you guys!! He is absolutely precious. You just brought me to tears with your sweet, loving story. Congrats!! And I adore the picture of you and him. Too too cute.

Leave a Reply

