Thankful Thursday: Woman’s Best Friend

Happy Thankful Thursday!

I hope you’re all having a lovely week! Today, I stumbled across a couple of pictures that I’d never seen before of my two dogs (my mom took them). I was instantly overwhelmed with love and gratitude (silly dogs meltin’ my heart and whatnot). So, I decided to dedicate today’s Thankful Thursday to my sweet pups, Barley and Simcoe.

Lately, being that I require a lot of rest time, my favorite thing to do is snuggle up on the couch with the hounds. Simcoe, the mastiff, (we call her Simmy) usually lets me lay my big, butterball belly on her and she props her giant head on my shoulder to sniff my face while I snooze.

Simcoe

Barley, the pug, curls up in a little ball and snuggles his head into the backs of my knees which results in restricted breathing for him and even louder snoring (that animal snores even while awake). Did you know that when pugs relax or sleep their curly tails unroll? It’s literally the cutest thing in the entire world.

Barley

Sure, like most relationships, we have our ups and downs. I’m no stranger to dog shenanigans and there are times when they just gross me out – they get into the most disgusting situations.

But, on this Thankful Thursday, I am thankful for the dogs that offer me company when I need someone to talk to during the work day (I bounce ideas off them when I work from home. They’re usually stunned silent by my brilliance…hoo-ha). I am also thankful for always having a cuddle buddy with when I need nap and never being alone because they follow me everywhere.

I know they’re thankful for us every time that sad animal rescue commercial with Sara McLachlan comes on while they’re watching tv. And I’m thankful that they are both ecstatic and overjoyed every time they see me, even when I’ve been gone for just a few minutes.

So, on today’s Thankful Thursday, give your pet an extra pat, hug, or treat to say thanks for their unconditional love.

Don’t have a pet? Well, you’re in luck! Check out the resources below to become a foster parent or adopt a furry friend who needs a home.

Larimer Humane Society

Colorado Pug Rescue

Colorado Mastiff Rescue

The Animal House

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Woman’s Best Friend

  1. Wonderful! I have been snowed in all week and so happy to have Betsy and Lucy here to keep me company. I do miss the sound of a Pug snoring. Opie was the best snuggler!

Leave a Reply

