Baby List Update: Item #7

Happy Monday!

I hope you all had an enjoyable weekend! Mine was a perfect combination of relaxation and fun. On Saturday, I helped throw a baby shower for a close friend who is expecting her first child in just a few weeks. (It’s baby-mania!) Sunday, I completely crashed….I slept in, went to church, took a nap, cheered for football (Go Broncos!), and then went to bed. It was a VERY relaxing day.

Speaking of relaxing days, I realized I haven’t updated you on my most recently checked off item from the Baby List: Schedule a Spa/Relaxation Day!

Right before the new year, I was lucky enough to get a full afternoon off of work without any obligations or commitments. I immediately took the opportunity to rest up and cash in on my spa day.

I spent the afternoon lounging on the couch, reading blogs, and enjoying leftover holiday cookies while I kicked back with my two favorite snuggle buddies. Then, it was spa time!

via

I called up LaVida Massage in Fort Collins and scheduled myself a prenatal massage. I checked in and was immediately taken back to my room (read: awesome customer service). They provided pillows, quiet music, soft lighting, and light throw blanket to keep me warm. The masseuse was  fantastic – getting the knots out of my upper back, kneading pain from my feet, and relaxing my neck and shoulders until I was completely tension free.

I was so relaxed and comfortable when I left, I vowed I was going to treat myself again when I get a little bigger. If you’re knocked up, I definitely recommend a prenatal massage when you get to the third trimester. It was truly beneficial by helping alleviate some of the weird pains that result from rapidly becoming rotund.

I finished up my afternoon of carefree indulgence with my last egg nog latte until Christmas time 2012 (boo!). Upon arriving home, I settled into our recliner with a book, sipped my latte, and waited for my spouse to come home and take me out to dinner. We had a lovely meal and one of our favorite spots in FC – a perfect end to a restful day.

I’m looking forward to finishing off the rest of the Baby List ….January is kind of like baby-preparation-month for the spouse and I. We’re finally starting the nursery and taking a birthing class. I also have my maternity photo shoot this weekend and two baby showers later in the month! It’s going to be a busy and exciting couple weeks…I’ll definitely need that second massage after all this. ;)

Have a wonderful and relaxing (if possible) week!

Leave a Reply

