Thankful Thursday: A Baby Shower

It’s our last Thankful Thursday in 2011….can you believe it?? To make this Thankful Thursday an extra special day, I wanted to share with you the amazing baby shower that my family threw in anticipation of our baby boy’s arrival.

I am so very lucky to have a huge family full of loving, funny, creative, and talented people. In addition to flying me out for a girls’ weekend on the east coast, my adorable kin hosted an incredibly thoughtful (and super fun) vintage baby shower for me and the little bump. To top it off, my lovely sister, Maggie, and dear friend, Jesse, joined me for the trip! It was an incredible weekend!

The amazing “Bun in the Oven” theme was cooked up by my mom and sister, Kate. Personalized invitations were hand-drawn by my talented friend, Keryn, and my awesome cousin, Richard (plus they framed the original artwork for me to take home!).

Guests were invited to share wishes for our little man while they sat at tables adorned with vintage table clothes and old-school toys – thanks to the imagination of my Aunt Roni and cousin, Janel.

The food (oh the food!) was AMAZING! My Aunt Edna, Aunt Roni, Grandma, Mom, Sister, Cousin Lori, Cousin Janel, and Cousin Jared poured their hearts into a deliciously classic feast with homemade turkey pot pies, a delectable fennel salad, buttered brussel sprouts, and hearty sandwiches.

And dessert! They had every kind of pie you could imagine as well as cake pops that tasted just as amazing as they looked…compliments of the adorable Brittany. We also enjoyed egg nog, hot apple cider, and a yummy fizzy punch (with champagne on the side).

These creative ladies didn’t stop there. The chalkboard details, blue checkered napkins, and rustic buckets gave an extra bit of vintage to the eclectic decor, but to top it off, the hosts of the shower wore hand-made aprons (made by my Aunt Roni and my cousin, Richard)! Aren’t they adorable?!

And wait….there’s more!!! While I couldn’t resist snapping my own photos to share with you and capture the memory of such a special day, my dear friend Jesse documented the day professionally. Please check out her photos over at freckle photography. Mine don’t do the shower justice!

I’m so thankful for the many friends and family gathered to help us celebrate our little bundle of joy (due on March 9th). I am still overwhelmed with gratitude for the delightful shower, the gifts upon gifts received, and the time spent with such wonderful people.

On this Thankful Thursday, I couldn’t be anymore appreciative of the fantastic women (and men) who put together such a special day. I’ll keep the memories of that weekend with me always and can’t wait until our little guy is here and can meet his amazing family.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!!!

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: A Baby Shower

  1. You are just one beautiful, amazing, talented, creative, thoughtful, awesome, loving pregnant niece!!!! I love you and your bundle of joy soooo much!!!!! We had sooo much fun prepping and preparing I want to do it all over again….. loving you always….. Aunt Rrrrrrronita!!!!! xxxooo

Leave a Reply

