Thankful Thursday: Best Songs Ever

Happy Thursday!

via Better Homes & Gardens

Today, I am thankful for Christmas Music! I adore holiday jingles…I’m one of those who listens to all-Christmas-all-the-time radio stations from mid-November to December 25. I secretly listen to a little Bing, Mariah, and HCJ in the summer. And I’ll drop everything and sing along to Mavis Staples when the Christmas Vacation theme song comes on. I LOVE the stuff.

Since we’re rapidly approaching the best day of the year and it’s finally appropriate to listen to cheery tunes all day long, I thought I’d pass along my favorite Christmas songs so you can build your own holiday playlist and share an uplifted holiday spirit with others. You know, the best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear….right?

On this Thankful Thursday, I am thankful for the way each of these songs makes me feel, the memories I have associated with every jingle, and the smile that never fails to pop up when I hear one of these tunes playing in an unexpected place. Hope you enjoy them too!

  1. Do They Know It’s Christmas Band Aid (1984 is the best version)
  2. Christmas is the Time to Say I Love You Billy Squire
  3. Auld Lang Syne Mairi Campbell & Dave Francis
  4. All I Want for Christmas is You Mariah Carey (or Michael Buble)
  5. Reggae Christmas Bryan Adams
  6. Santa Claus is Coming to Town Bruce Springstein
  7. Where Are You Christmas?Faith Hill
  8. The 12 Days of ChristmasThe Muppets
  9. Carol of the BellsTrans-Siberian Orchestra
  10. Peach on Earth/Little Drummer Boy Bing Crosby & David Bowie
  11. Oh Holy Night Josh Groban
  12. Please Come Home for Christmas – Harry Connick, Jr.
  13. Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Leon Redbone & Zooey Daschanel
  14. White Christmas – Bing Crosby
  15. Christmas Vacation – Mavis Staples
  16. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) – John Lennon
One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Best Songs Ever

Leave a Reply

