Thankful Thursday: The Muppets

Happy Thankful Thursday!

This morning, within a matter of minutes, I ran into The Muppets twice. I’d love to say that I ran to the actual Muppets in real, puppet life…but I did not. The first Muppet-encounter was online in one of my very favorite blogs (who I am constantly re-posting awesome things from) and the second was in an email from my sister. She sent me a sweet little note quoting Kermit and Miss Piggy. I’d be lying if I said my eyes didn’t tear up just a bit.

Well, that’s all it took. Suddenly, there I was watching Bret McKenzie sing with Kermit (and I thought I had a crush on Bret when he wore lion sweatshirts and sang about business socks with Jermaine). I downloaded ‘The 12 Days of Christmas‘ by the Muppets; it is seriously one of the BEST Christmas songs (wait until Beaker sings…just try not to laugh when you hear his line).

I became overwhelmed with nostalgia for my youth, started humming ‘Rainbow Connection,’ and decided I just had to share this childhood sentiment with all of you. I think little else can make me smile as quickly as hearing Kermit’s voice, seeing a picture of Animal, or actually getting to watch one of the old Muppets movies. I haven’t seen the new movie yet, but I will very soon!

On this Thankful Thursday, I am thankful for The Muppets: for their silly songs, their big felt hearts, their ability to make me laugh from the time I was a tot to now, and for the memories they stir up. Hope you enjoy the images below and clips above.

Happy Thankful Thursday!

Image Featured in NY Times. via HelloGiggles.
via Super Swoon. Artwork by David Vordtriede.
via Pinterest. And posted on my blog here.
By Michael DePappo.
via {frolic!}. Image Featured in NY Times.
2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: The Muppets

Leave a Reply

