Thankful Week: Baking

Happy Tuesday!

I woke up this morning with a serious hankering for coffee cake. Doesn’t that sound amazing? I think I’m making a stop at Starbucks on the way into the office today. Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake, here I come!

(Side note, I wrote this post before heading into the office and the car in front of me at the drive-thru bought my coffee! Isn’t that awesome?! I bought a cup for the person behind me…keep the joy going! I’m also thankful for kind people today!)

Today, I am thankful for baking. More specifically, for the resulting baked goods. If I’m being honest with myself, I’m thankful for home-baked goodies every day…especially the last few months. I’m no stranger to carb cravings but being pregnant has amplified my usual lust for a loaf (or a cookie or a muffin) to an obsession. Mmmm, cookies.

Being that this week is Thanksgiving, I’ve decided to indulge in my desire for delectable buns by baking a few of my favorite pumpkin treats. I’ve always enjoyed baking (whether or not I’m actually good at it) and I’m thankful for the smell of cookies or pastries in the oven, for licking the spoon, eating the dough, and for the warm treat I get to enjoy once it’s done.

Here’s a few of the planned treats for this week. I can’t wait to make them!

Pumpkin Pie – My contribution to Thanksgiving dinner since the spouse cooks everything else (seriously, I’m lucky gal).

Pumpkin Bread – A yummy treat for Thanksgiving morning. I plan to enjoy it with an egg nog latte.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars – Something to hold me over until T-Day. I need a sweet bit o’ pumpkin and little chocolate now.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding – WHAT!!!?? How have I not had this before!

Okay, I totally don’t plan to attempt to make bread pudding before Thanksgiving but I might let myself try it out over the weekend. I found it while searching for the other pics and recipes…..it looks mouth-watering good (don’t you agree!?).

What Thanksgiving day baked goods are you thankful for?

All images & recipes via Martha Stewart.
2 thoughts on “Thankful Week: Baking

Leave a Reply

