Here’s to the Farm!

This morning I woke up to the cock-a-doodle-doo of rooster. No joke.

via Pinterest.

It wasn’t some silly app I downloaded on my phone, but an actual live rooster. Sitting outside with a bunch of chickens. Awakening the world. Or at least awakening me and some chickens.

For the next five days, I’m house sitting for my mother-in-law who just happens to live on what might as well be a farm. Okay, it’s not a real farm…the only animals are chickens, a rooster, three dogs, and a kitty (oh hey-ey, Claritin). But, let me tell ya, it’s out in the middle of nowhere, on a bunch of acres, with a barn-ish looking building on the property, and a giant vegetable garden. In my mind: Farm.

Last night was my first night on the farm….all alone. I thought I was going to be scared to be out there on the dark and quiet prairie. With all these creepy Halloween movie commercials and the fact that it gets dark at, like, 7pm now, I was sure I’d be calling my spouse every five minutes because of a spooky sound or shadow. But, pregnancy makes me so exhausted that by the time I fed the dogs, cut up the cat’s shrimp dinner (weird), tossed corn at the chickens, and caught up on the last two episodes of The League, I was too tired to be scared. So, first night successful.

I suppose, thanks to the rooster, I had a successful first morning as well. Up early, dressed and out the door for work with a happy household of animals behind me.

The spouse is coming up tonight for the rest of the weekend so I don’t have to stay out there all alone the whole time. Thank goodness.  I’m actually looking forward to our weekend out in the country. It’ll be relaxing and peaceful (she doesn’t have internet access so we’ll really be cut off from the world) and with plenty of space to roam around, who knows what our country adventure will bring.

To mix it up, since her farm isn’t too far from Denver, we’re gonna take the ol’ front-wheel drive wagon into the big city for the afternoon on Saturday and hopefully will get to meet up with a few Denverite buddies of ours. It’ll be a good weekend of country livin’ and city visitin’.

Hope you have an exciting, fun-filled weekend planned! Happy Friday!

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places” — Roald Dahl

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Here’s to the Farm!

  1. Love this! As you know I am no longer a city girl but am now a Ranch Owner. This week I realize one of my favorite things about living in the country..driving on the dirt road and when you pass anyone the wave that happens by each driver! The WAVE exchange, makes me appreciate my new country life that much more!

Leave a Reply

