Tasty Tuesday: Strawberry Rhubarb

Happy Tuesday!!

Today’s treat dates back to my childhood…mom used to make Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp every Sunday during the summer and I always looked forward to it! A few weeks ago, my rhubarb was growing out of control and craving a for a summer-y cobbler struck me hard. I needed to eat cobbler and I needed to use the rhubarb….immediately.

So, into the garden I went. I whacked down the giant-leafed fruit and unloaded stalks of it on my counter. Wanting a sweet dessert, I thought back on the days of mom’s Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp and found this recipe online. After a quick trip to the store for some strawberries, I got to work.

Unfortunately, I accidentally used too little corn starch so the consistency¬† was a bit more soup-y than cobbler-y. I served it to friends at a football party and it wasn’t exactly a touchdown. However, after a few hours in the fridge, it firmed up and I happily ate it for breakfast, lunch and dessert for the rest of the week. :)

Although, I admit this is more of a summer treat than a fall dessert, I thought some of you might still have rhubarb growing in your gardens (if not, I’m sure your local grocer has it). Serve it warmed up with a little vanilla ice cream – and this dessert is delicious any time of year. Give it a try and let me know if you like it!

Leave a Reply

