Tasty Tuesday: NYC Edition

For today’s Tasty Tuesday, I’d like to tell you about a few of the places we ate while we were in New York City a few weeks ago. Even though we were only there for one day, we made quite a few stops for grub.

Our first stop of the day was for an early lunch at Katz’s Delicatessen. I’ve wanted to nosh at the famous eatery for years. And after watching several Food Network and Travel Channel shows featuring the legendary deli, I couldn’t wait to try their fare.

Upon arrival, we were ushered into a cafeteria-style line with a dozen cooks and countless patrons shouting orders at them (regular sit-down service with a waiter is available but we thought the counter offered a more exciting experience).

The spouse had to try to their famous Pastrami Sandwich and I opted for a Half-Sandwich & Soup Combo (Tuna & Chicken Noodle). We watched as the cook prepared our delectable lunch then slipped down the rest of the line picking up a microbrew for the spouse and a ginger ale for me. We grabbed a table easily despite the large crowds and took in the hundreds of photos signed by celebrities that decorated the walls.

Then we took a bite….DELICIOUS!! The spouse said, and I quote, “This is the best pastrami I have ever had!” He’s not an easy customer to please so that statement means a lot. I loved my meal and adored the atmosphere of the busy deli. I definitely recommend Katz’s for a bite to eat in NYC (but be ready for a hefty price tag for lunch).

After lunch, we headed down to Russ & Daughters to pick up an afternoon snack (which we saved for later…I was stuffed post-Katz’s!). Russ & Daughters is an appetizing shop that features smoked fish, caviar, and other high-quality foods. We went solely for the lox (how can you not get lox when in New York!?).

We sampled a few varieties and settled on a delicious serving of the best lox I’ve ever tasted (I can’t remember what it was called). When snack time rolled around, we sat in a park in the SoHo area and enjoyed our lox with a cold iced tea. I’m not sure I’ve ever had a more memorable snack – it was amazing! Good news…you can order your very own cured or smoked fish online from Russ & Daughters and pretend your livin’ it up in NYC at home. I recommend that you do!

Our last meal of the day was probably our most-anticipated…we had a reservation at Marc Forgione’s and I am a huge fan (thanks to The Next Iron Chef).

Here’s the truth: the atmosphere, appetizers, desserts, wine, and service were all INCREDIBLE but the entrees were not spectacular. Otherwise, it was everything I’d hoped it be; the rustic, dimly list room was a perfect setting, our server was attentive and energetic, our appetizers were mouth-watering, and the dessert was shockingly creative and served by their pastry chef. To top it all off, Marc Forgione himself was there! He walked through the restaurant several times and even waved to us at one point.

My fish was cooked perfectly but, to be honest, the flavor it wasn’t mind-blowing. The spouse unfortunately felt the same (actually he was even less-impressed) about his steak. It was a bit surprising that we weren’t head over heals in love with the entrees but everything else that night was perfect, so I’d still recommend them.

If you’re ever in the Tribeca area of New York, give Forgione’s a try and tell me if you loved it! I’m thinking I’ll have to go back to give them a second chance soon!

This photo was actually taken at a bar down the street from Forgione’s. I was so star-crazy from seeing Marc Forgione himself, I forgot to take pics!

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: NYC Edition

  1. I live here and don’t know about these places!!! Next time I plan a ride into the city I’ll check with you for the “hot spots”!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

