Thankful Thursday: Work

Today is my ‘work-iversary’! I’ve been with my company for six years today. 6!!

Thinking back over the last six years, a lot has happened. The spouse and I got married, we bought our first house, we grew our family by two furry children (our pug and mastiff), we traveled quite a bit, our friends started having kids, my husband changed jobs, my brother moved to California – then back to Wyoming – and then back to California, my sister had a baby, I started this blog, my parents both went back to college, I ran a marathon, we started competing in BBQ competitions, and now we’re expecting a baby! Whew!

I can honestly say that the person I am today is not the same person that was hired six years ago. I’ve been fortunate to be blessed with a job that has grown with me over the last six years in more ways than title changes and promotions alone. With each year, our company adapts to our ever-changing business environment and they given me the opportunities to grow and adapt with them.

My work (btw – I’m a marketing manager) allows me to be creative, to experience new places and people, to work from home, to learn and improve my skills, to have structure (and also flexibility), and to wake up most mornings motivated to take on new challenges.

In today’s tough economic times, I’d have to be crazy not to be truly thankful for my job. While there are certainly more glamorous types of employment out there in the world, I couldn’t ask for a position that better fits who I am today.

So, on today’s Thankful Thursday, I am thankful for work!! I hope if you have a job in these uncertain days of high unemployment that you take a minute today to appreciate your position and say, “Thanks!”

via Just Little Things.
via Polish My Crown.
via Care Daily.
via Lyrics to Live By.
via Carrots ‘N’ Cake.
via ThxThxThx.
via Yum & Yuk. via workisnotajob.
One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Work

Leave a Reply

