Workout Wednesday Returns!

via Pinterest.

I accidentally tried a new workout this week. I’m purposefully not going out of my workout comfort zone of moderate runs and yoga just to be sure we’re keeping the baby safe, but I stumbled upon a new class that I think I might do again.

I went to my usual Monday night yoga practice (after two weeks of missed classes) looking forward to a relaxing stretch session. I was surprised to see a substitute instructor who looked really amp’d up. I thought to myself…why is this mystery lady so perky for yoga??

She explained that Kim (our usual gal) was out that night and she would be teaching a modified version of Will Power & Grace to us in place of yoga. I considered leaving until she explained what the class would include. Will Power & Grace is essentially a cardio workout combined with yoga/pilates basics (that’s a really simplified version of the description). It included a lot of lower-body strengthening moves with light cardio to keep up our heart rates and get us moving. We used our yoga mats and remained barefoot using only our body weight for resistance.

I found myself LOVING it! Getting an unexpected sweat session and a good strengthening/stretching workout in one class was AWESOME! The core moves were all plank-style (totally okay for the one in-utero), the cardio was equivalent to a light jog, and we worked leg muscles I forgot I had (until yesterday when I woke up a little sore).

I’m not sure if there’s a 24 Hour Fitness in your area but I’m sure a lot of gyms offer some kind of cardio-infused yoga or pilates. I definitely recommend checking them out!

P.S. After posting this, Stacey Lei Krauss, founder of the willPower Method, contacted me! She was thankful that I gave the class a try, was very sweet and even offered advice for continuing the willPower & Grace class in my pregnancy. Isn’t that awesome!?!

Stop by her site, like them on Facebook, and definitely give one of her classes a try!

2 thoughts on “Workout Wednesday Returns!

  1. Hi Stacey,

    I just found your blog on the willPower website, and had to comment :) I, too, am expecting…and I have been a wPg instructor for the past year and a half. At 35 1/2 weeks pregnant, I am still teaching willPower & grace® and going strong. This class is my favorite to teach, among yoga and other formats, and has kept me feeling great and super fit throughout my pregnancy. Good luck and I am so glad you found willPower!

Leave a Reply

