Workout Wednesday: Volunteer

Good Morning!

I haven’t written a workout post in a while and that’s because I’ve purposefully scaled back my sweat sessions over the past couple of weeks. I’m slowly getting myself back to a normal routine but it’s taking some time.

As I’ve been taking it easy on the running, I realized that I’m really falling behind on my goal of participating in one race a month this year. So, instead of skipping August (as I did June and July) I decided to participate in different way….as a volunteer.

I volunteered to be a route marshal at the recent Fossil Frenzy 5k in Fort Collins last Saturday. The race was a fundraiser for my church and held close to home so it was the perfect race to volunteer for.

I arrived (a bit late as per usual), was shown to my spot and basically just sat in the morning sun for a good 45 minutes. It was lovely. I snapped a few photos of the view.


Then suddenly, the runners started to come up over the hill! I snapped into action, cheering them on and providing route instructions. It was actually a lot of fun to stand on the sidelines and cheer for others instead of actually running.

I was surprised at how many of the runners thanked me for being a volunteer as they ran by! It was really sweet. I made a mental note to thank all the volunteers on the courses I’ll be running in the future.

Overall, it was a great morning and a successful fundraiser. Since I usually take a post-race shot of myself, I didn’t want to disappoint you. Here I am post-event picking up cones….I think the running shots are a bit better so be ready to see more of those soon!

One thought on “Workout Wednesday: Volunteer

Leave a Reply

