Tasty Tuesday: Overnight Oats

I have to admit, I haven’t been feeling much like myself lately. I suspect you can sense that from recent my lack-luster, late-in-the-day posts; things are just a bit off.

I really felt weird the night I started craving oatmeal. Oatmeal?? It’s 90+ degrees outside! I realized then that I’m definitely not my summery self…I’ve even started planning out my fall clothing and getting excited at the prospect of chilly weather. Super weird.

But, as I tried to push my strangeness aside, I did not stop thinking about oatmeal. And, thanks to the 90+ degrees, I knew that I couldn’t enjoy a regular bowl of the hot stuff. So, I turned to the internet.

I’ve seen Overnight Oats on multiple blogs out there and have been intrigued to try them for some time. I ended up snagging the winning recipe from Oh She Glows (my favorite vegan blogger). Overnight oats is essentially oatmeal….without the cooking…and COLD! I know, I know, cold oatmeal doesn’t really sound appealing, but I thought I’d give it a try.

Well….it was down right delicious! And so filling! It satisfied my craving for oatmeal, was quick and easy to make, a little sweet (I added PB & Honey to it!), and fueled me up for a productive day. I have to say, I recommend giving overnight oats a try.

Here’s the recipe, enjoy!

Oh She Glows – Easy Vegan Overnight Oats

Evening Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup regular oats
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 tiny ripe banana, peeled and smashed
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions: Mix together the above ingredients in a bowl and place in fridge overnight.

In the morning, remove bowl from fridge and add toppings if desired (PB & Honey for me). Serve overnight oats cold.

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Overnight Oats

Leave a Reply

