Thankful Thursday: Home

Yesterday I found myself complaining to my mom about the light in our living room, the sheets in my bedroom, and the kitchen sink disposal. I frequently comment on my distaste for my backyard (due to gardener snakes), the too-small size of my house, and my lack of design skill. Insert world’s smallest violin.

Last night my sister and brother came down from Wyoming to visit with the spouse, me, and my mom. We all gathered in our “too-small” living/dining room after dinner and watched an incredible thunder/lightening/hail storm. I sat there with my family, awestruck at nature’s force, and realized just how thankful I am to have the home that I so frequently whine about.

Having a home means my spouse and I are building something together, it means my mom can visit for three weeks and stay comfortably in our guest room, it means my dogs can think they’re protecting it from strangers (and squirrels), it means my siblings can come together and celebrate a special occasion in a place where everyone can relax and be themselves. I too often complain about the state of my “starter” house so today I want to shout, “THANK YOU!!!” to the universe for giving me such a lovely, comfortable home.

My new sense of home appreciation has me drooling over design blogs in search of prints, housewares, and creative ideas to freshen up our tiny piece of real estate and keep this thankful train on track. Enjoy the pics and incredible design bloggers…they are some talented folks. Happy Thankful Thursday!

What are you thankful for today?

Via decor8. By Sania Pell.
Via A Cup of Jo. Via love made me do it.
Via Ebb & Flow. Via French by Design.
Via Alice in Desginland. Photos from Libby Alexander.
Via Marta Writes. From Pretty Prints from Volume 25 Etsy Shop.
Via Oh Happy Day. Kate Spade’s House photographed by Todd Selby.
Via One Sydney Road. From Pottery Barn.
Via eighteen25.
4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Home

  1. you are not alone on this one! our house is just over 900sq feet. yep, 900 whopping sq ft for 3.5 people. Did I mention it has ONE bathroom?! Luckily 2 of the 3 of us are not beyond running out back in an emergency. It can be such a pain! And as we get ready to squeeze one more human into this, um, cozy abode, I have to think how much I LOVE the inexpensive mortgage, the huge back yard, the amazing location, and really that I always know what everyone is up to without having to move, yell, etc. We are always “involved” with each other (wither we like it or not) and overall its a pretty great thing. Don’t get me wrong, its still not taking the role of my “forever home” but for now its pretty perfect in a lot of ways!

  2. thanks so much for the link. i’m so jealous of your starter home! i won’t have a place of my own for another year or so and i am counting down the days until i have a too small kitchen to complain about!

Leave a Reply

