Work-It-Out Wednesday: Role Model

Today is a very special day…..it’s my mom’s birthday!

For the first time in a very, very long time I actually get to see my mom and spend time with her on her birthday! I’m looking forward to hitting up one of my favorite spots in Old Town FC for dinner with her later tonight to celebrate her….uh….I better not reveal the age, let’s just say, ‘Special’ birthday. I am excited to toast to a woman who has always been a role model to me, especially when it comes to living a healthy lifestyle.

Growing up, my mamacita set a very healthy example for me and my siblings. I remember living in a house without soda, processed foods, and pre-packaged junk food. Instead we were given fruit, milk, or home-made snacks and sat down almost every night to a family dinner. I remember being full of high-school ATTITUDE and thinking that I really wanted Doritos, Twinkies or Dr. Pepper, but today look back on the home-made cookies, the insistent reminder to drink water, and home-cooked meals with great admiration (except when she force-fed me eggplant….blech!)

In addition to healthy eating, mom also encouraged all of us join sports that we enjoyed and to spend time outside with nature whenever we could. We grew up going on camping trips, visiting the ocean, or going on day trips to local picnic grounds. She carted us around to endless soccer trips, cheered for us from the stands during games, and gave up more than I will probably ever know to support our activities.

My Mama

Today, I still look at my mom and her approach to a healthy life (and Jennifer Aniston’s Smart Water ads) when I need motivation or a reminder to live a balanced lifestyle of tasty treats, nutritious fuel, and consistent excercise. Thanks, Mom!

Speaking of exercise, this week’s work out schedule was very light (oops!). With my mom visiting, the big anniversary weekend, and an already hectic schedule, I let my workouts fall by the wayside. This next week will be much better…but for now, here’s what I accomplished last week:

  • Wednesday 6/1 – Off
  • Thursday 6/2 – 3 Mile Run
  • Friday 6/3 – Off (unless you count go-karts!)
  • Saturday 6/4 – 3 Mile Run; Ab Workout
  • Sunday 6/5 – Off again
  • Monday 6/6 – 3 Mile Run; Ab Workout
  • Tuesday 6/7 – 30 Mins In-Home Yoga
So, tell me, who is your healthy living role model? How do they inspire you?
One thought on “Work-It-Out Wednesday: Role Model

Leave a Reply

