Tasty Tuesday: Huevos Benedict

So lately, I’ve been really into eggs. I’ve been craving eggs in every form from boiled to fried to on top of pizza (which sounds questionable but is actually AMAZING!). So, once again, this Tasty Tuesday is about the incredible, edible egg.

One of my favorite breakfasts is Eggs Benedict….but not in the traditional way. I’m not sure if I’ve ever explained what I do and do not eat on this blog so, real quick, here’s the deal: About 10-11 years ago, I became a vegetarian. That lifestyle lasted for approximately four years but I occasionally had fish (and some times hot wings…okay so I never went whole-hog vegetarian. Can you say whole-hog vegetarian? Seems wrong).

After those four years or so of lying about being a vegetarian, I decided to officially embrace chicken and fish as part of my diet once again. This has expanded to include turkey, the occasional Duck Confit, and I’ll give the random bird a try once in awhile – like if someone asks me to try a quail or something (which has actually never happened).

So, in a lot more words than I expected to use, I don’t eat red meat or pork. And since I don’t eat most meats, I like my Eggs Benedict vegetarian. Instead of using the traditional EB recipe of poached egg, fried Canadian bacon, toasted English muffin, and hollandaise sauce, I replace the Canadian bacon with a slice of tomato. You can also add fresh spinach and avocado if you’re feeling wild!

Speaking of wild, this post is call Huevos Benedict for a reason. For added spice and extra flavor, we kick up the hollandaise sauce too…..

Using this hollandaise sauce recipe, my spouse mixes up the yummy, yellow dressing and just before serving it, he adds several teaspoons of hot chilies. YUM! This spicy twist on on the Veggie EB provides a lip-smackin’ breakfast that everyone will enjoy (even my carnivorous hubby)! Try it out…tell me if you LOVE it (you will).

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Huevos Benedict

Leave a Reply

