Feelin’ Green

Good Monday Morning!

Did you all have a good weekend? What did you do? The spouse and I had a wonderful weekend! While my puppy healed, we just hung around the house and relaxed – it was awesome! We watched a couple of movies, had our close friends over for the Preakness and a boxing match, hit a bucket of balls at the driving range, and spent the rest of the weekend gardening.

Ah, gardening. Here’s the truth: I am a terrible gardener. My thumb is definitely more black than green. Every plant I’ve ever touched……dead (except this tree and this bamboo). How does this happen? It’s no mystery: I rarely read the instructions on the seed packets or the plastic info card that comes in the flower pods, I frequently forget to water my sprouts, and honestly once warmer weather arrives, my phobia of snakes makes it difficult for me to step off the back deck to tend to my seedlings (those devils live under the deck, I swear!).

All of these obstacles aside, every May I forget my tendency to be Death to all things that photosynthesize and try once again to plant a garden. But this year…oh, this year…things are different! I’ve recently been reciting, “The definition of crazy is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results,” as a personal mantra for change. So, this past Saturday, I read all the little cards that came with my flowers (and even did what they said!), planted the seeds as the instructions read on the back of the packet, and had my spouse build an irrigation system to our flower boxes to make watering easier. I feel like Greenskeeper Fantastic-o (don’t know what that is? Me either, I just made it up).

So, the spouse and I planted loads of flowers, sun flowers, peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, watermelon, and herbs and I am feeling quite optimistic about this year’s crop. Hopefully we’ll be enjoying a beautiful garden in just a few weeks…for now, this is what we have.

Are you a gardener? Share your plant survival tactics with me!!!

Hope you all have a fabulous Monday and a terrific week!

P.S. We’re working on the grass situation as well. That’s the spouse’s backyard department and he’s been fertilizing, aerating, and seeding it with high hopes to have the greenest lawn on the block. I’m sure in a just a couple of weeks it’ll be lookin’ much better!

2 thoughts on “Feelin’ Green

  1. I’ve had a garden for the last 3 years and it is so fun when you can go get veggies straight from your backyard. It’s a lot of trial and error. I would suggest some zucchini & squash if you like them..they are so hardy and make you feel like your garden is a success. They produce a lot from just one plant! Also if you have any more room potatoes and onions are hard to kill. Just read the instructions on the potatoes..you have to chop them up and let them harden before you plant them. Sounds like a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

