Word to Yo’ Motha

Happy Friday!

This Friday is a little different than other Friday’s cause I don’t just have a quote in store fo you. Since Mother’s Day is only a couple of days away, I’d like to tell you all about my mom….one of my Modern Day Superhero’s.

My mom is a strong, independent, and gorgeous women. She’s enrolled in school full-time, working on her nutrition degree, and is cultivating her natural talent for photography along the way. She is truly one of the most naturally gifted people I know, she has no formal training in photography and took ALL of the pics in this post!

She’s a mom, a friend, a sister, a daughter, an aunt, a godmother, a cousin, and is about to be a GRANDMOTHER! BAH! No, no, no, it’s not me that’s elevating her to this new status. Just in case you’ve somehow missed all my other talk about my expecting sister, I’d just like clarify that it’s my sis that will be having a son and you better believe my mamacita will be the best grandma you’ve ever met!

I’ve told my mom countless times that she’s one of the strongest people I know and that’s because it’s 100% true. She’s kept her held high and charged her way through very difficult times determined to create a life surrounded by love, happiness, and nature. She’s truly an inspiration to me and I only hope that when I’m her age that I’ll be able to say that I’ve accomplished half as much as she’s done (and still look like her too…the woman doesn’t age!). She has a huge, caring, loving heart and will drop anything to help one of her kids, family members, or friends in need. Her selfless attitude and dedication to enjoying all of the little things in life motivates me daily to be more like her.

Aside from her strength and her motivation, my mom is just plain fun. I have countless memories of my youth with my mom teaching me to bake (thanks for teaching me to cook, pssh), taking my siblings and I on camping trips, spending summers with our east coast family, and spending many a night in my 20’s pouring red wine and listening to classic rock. Thanks to a mom and daughter cross-country excursion in college, every time I hear the song Tiny Dancer by Elton John, I think of my mom and the memories created on that trip.

My mom – an inspiring soul, an artful eye, a beautiful face, and tender heart. I love her very much and am so thankful to  have all the gifts she’s passed on to me, all the advice I have sometimes listened to, and all the memories you can only create with someone you truly love. Thanks, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day.

 

“Blue jean baby, L.A. lady, seamstress for the band. Pretty eyed, pirate smile, you’ll marry a music man. Ballerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand. And now she’s in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand.” ~ Elton John 

3 thoughts on “Word to Yo’ Motha

Leave a Reply

