Right Side of the Bed

I have a confession to make: I haven’t worked out for the past 9 days in a row. Nine!! I haven’t taken a break from all things active like that in….honestly….I can’t remember when.

The first couple of days, I felt guilty about missing my sweat session but overall pretty normal. But by day 5 or 6, I was stressed out, very tense, more tired than usual, and just not pleasant to be around. An additional several days of tension and stress as well as an internal dialogue about “not having time” to workout fully hit me yesterday. I realized that for me to be happy, productive, and have any energy, I NEED my endorphin rush!

So this morning, I made time and got up early. I pumped myself up with some Dropkick Murphy’s (Boy’s on the Dock or their version of Amazing Grace will totally get you going!), laced up my running shoes, and took off for a quick 3-miler.

I am not kidding, I feel like I got a massage. My body is less tense, I’m more calm this morning, I feel prepared to take on the day, and as I write this I’m smiling. Seriously, just sitting here smiling. So, today’s challenge is to post a picture of something that can always make you smile…well, that thing is running. It might sound crazy and I can’t say every run ends with the feel-good high I’m floatin’ on right now, but 90% of them do.

For the challenge pic, I thought I’d share some of my “jogging photography” with you. In the last year, I’ve gotten in the habit of taking pics while I’m running…it’s silly…but I’ve seen some pretty things. (Warning: All pics are little blurry and taken with an iPhone.)

Hope you all find something to make you smile today. If you need a little lift, take the time to give your body some lovin’ and get your sweat on! Even if your days are packed with endless to do lists, you’ll feel better and more prepared to tackle your tasks by taking some time to charge yourself up.

2 thoughts on “Right Side of the Bed

  1. Lovely pics! I wish I liked running. I’ve tried many times. I don’t think it’s meant to be :) (Mostly I just want to wear one of those really cute running outfits! Ha ha)

Leave a Reply

