Hungry, Hungry Stacey

First, last week I baked this Irish Soda Bread. I originally found it on Cupcakes & Cashmere and the recipe made my mouth water. I finally got around to baking it and it is delicious! As it turns out, fewer people than I realized actually like Irish Soda Bread (one of those people being my spouse), so I’ve been eating the entire loaf myself. How embarrassing….

Second, today’s 30 Day Blog Challenge is to post a picture of something you wish you were better at. Although the pretty pics above might suggest I’m handy in the kitchen, the truth is quite the opposite.

One thing that has always stuck out as a major flaw of mine is my complete inability to cook (I can bake..no problem. But cook…no). My gastronomically advanced spouse has tried to teach me and last year I embarked on a self-imposed, 5-meal challenge to improve my kitchen-handicap (sounds like it should have been easy right? I mean, seriously, FIVE?). But alas, I’d still qualify for Worst Cooks in America (I’m a Food Network junkie).

Between foodie tv shows, my knife-wielding culinary-wizard husband, and my insatiable appetite, I’m constantly craving the ability produce something edible from the stove top. I don’t have a picture of me in the kitchen (I think I’ve clearly covered why), so the pics of bread above will have to do to fulfill today’s challenge.

What do you want to be better at?

Leave a Reply

