I Don’t Think Much, but I Can’t Stop Thinkin’ About You

Yesterday’s St. Patrick’s Day parade kept me from posting Day 12 of the 30 Day Blog Challenge, so I’m combo-ing yesterday’s item with today’s. It’s pretty easy to do since Day 12 of the Challenge is to post a picture of something you love and Day 13 is to post a picture of your favorite band or artist.

Since I LOVE my favorite band so much, I figure they qualify as both items :)

It will come as no surprise to anyone who reads my blog that my favorite, favorite band in the whole wide world is Roger Clyne & the Peacemakers (after all the title of this blog was inspired by their song lyrics). I’ve been a die-hard fan since the first time I saw them at the Starlight in FC and Steve Larson (their previous guitarist) covered Ring of Fire. From that moment, I was hooked.

Countless concerts, loads of signed memorabilia, and many backstage-crashing good times later, they still capture my heart with their southwest rock. Many people don’t believe they know who RCPM is, but you probably do. Their most-played radio song is Down Together from the late 90’s and you might know them from the fast-paced guitar jam which is the opening credits song of the show King of the Hill.

Adored by their fans, RCPM hits the Denver and FC area several times a year (thanks to their new guitarist, Jim Dalton, being from CO). Going to their concerts feels something like a religious experience as each of their screaming fans belt out every word to every song fully projecting their love to the stage.

There’s nothing quite like dancing slowly under the twinkling disco ball to Roger’s sweet serenade of Green & Dumb, or raising your shot of tequila high in the air toasting the band during Mekong. You can usually find me at the front of the stage screaming and singing at the top of my lungs. Once though, I literally cried during a concert when they played Ashes of San Miguel…and I mean ugly-cried. It was amazing!

I can’t imagine ever tiring of RCPM and I pray that I don’t cause when it comes to music, I don’t know much but now I know that no one else will do.

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Think Much, but I Can’t Stop Thinkin’ About You

Leave a Reply

