Challenge 2: Best Friends

Today’s post for the 30-Day Blog Challenge is to post a picture of you and the person you’ve been closest to the longest. I knew instantly that this post would be about my best friend of the last 15 years, Amanda (a.k.a. Manda, Schmanda, and Hermando).

Thumbing through my high school and college photo albums last night, I couldn’t find just one picture that I felt really captured our friendship, so I grabbed all the pics below and had a fun walk down memory lane. Memories….from the corner of mind….

Manda and I first met when we were both cheerleaders in junior high. By our sophomore year of high school, we were best friends and have been close ever since.

May 1999

We were dorm-mates freshman year at UW and roommates the remaining four years of college. We went camping in Vedawoo (the first time we went camping, we forgot our stove and ended up cooking our dinner on a shovel), skiing in Breckenridge, and spent plenty of time at the Library (te he he).  Our good friend Lisa encouraged us both to try rugby and for the next 3.5 years, we rucked, scrummed and shot the boot side-by-side…along with a handful of wildly amazing gals.

October 1999

September 2002

We drove coast-to-coast; first from Jersey to Wyoming then from Wyoming to Seattle & British Columbia. We ventured to Vegas, NYC, Napa Valley and Mexico. And, being the adventurous daredevils we are, we went bungee jumping together.

August 2000

May-June? 2001

Over coffee this morning, I couldn’t help but burst out giggling when I thought about the day that Manda told me she was engaged. I was sitting on the couch with my spouse (boyfriend at the time) and I was so excited when she said, “I’m engaged,” that I actually spit guacamole on him. As her Maid of Honor, I shared many of the adventures above in detail during my speech and as my Maid of Honor, she did too. A couple of years later, when Manda called me to say she was pregnant, she started with, “You’re not eating guacamole, are you?”

June 2006

July 2006

Since college, marriage, getting jobs and starting families, Manda and I have remained extremely close. We completed our first 5k, 10k, half-marathon and triathlon together and we serve on the same volunteer committees. And, when I really needed her, she dropped everything to fly to NJ to be with and support my family.

April 2007

April 2007

October 2007

Today, I’m thinking about what to get her for her 30th birthday (a week from Sunday) and anxiously anticipating the soon-to-happen arrival of her second baby. I’m so very blessed to still have my BFF after all these years and so thankful to her, her spouse, and her son for continuing to be in my life. Thank you, friend!

May 2010

6 thoughts on “Challenge 2: Best Friends

  1. omg! i love it! i got teared up! and very literally LOL’d when i read about you spitting guac on john. that’s hilarious.

Leave a Reply

