First Race of the Year

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to run one race per month. At around 10am on January 1st, I pretty much failed at that goal when I decided to go back to bed for a couple of hours instead of participate in the local ‘Resolution 5K’.

With no other races in FC for the rest of the month, I set my sights on February and declared that my twelve months of running would be starting a little late. I figure, at some point this year, I’ll do two races in one month to make up for my hungover start to 2011.

So, my first race, the Loveland Sweetheart Classic, was Saturday and is a 4-mile race that takes place east of Loveland, CO on the very cold and windy plains. Chilled, I was nervous about this first of many races because I really haven’t been training all that much. I didn’t want to be the last one crossing the finish line and, although I had dressed warmly, I was anxious about running into wind which is my least favorite thing to do in the entire world. Well, except eating eggplant, blech, eggplant.

But, nervousness aside, I laced up and got to the start line just a few minutes before the shotgun. I plugged in my earphones and quickly realized that my iPhone is a serious P.O.S. and apparently, during my last “update,” I lost all my Ke$ha songs. :( Determined, even in the face of music crisis, I warmed up my legs and waited for the “GO!”

(BTW, all my Ke$ha is safe and sound on my comp if you were worried. I know, Whew!)

We took off across the snowy landscape and made our way to paved roads which I am more comfortable running on than icy dirt. I started off feeling pretty good and moving at a pretty quick clip. Then decided to try my hand a jogging photography and snapped the semi-blurry pics below with my blog in mind.

The Start

The View (I stopped briefly to take this one).

Almost Done!

Speaking of my blog, the other reason I was anxious about this race was the knowledge that I would be reporting my overall time and splits. I kept thinking, “Everyone will think you’re a real Slow-Poke Rodriguez!”…..And so I tried to run fast.

Well, blog readers, thanks for that motivation! My overall time was 33 minutes and 11 seconds, an average pace of 8:18, which isn’t too shabby at all. My splits are below for those of you who are runners and care (most of you likely don’t care even if you areĀ  a runner).

  • Mile 1: 7:42
  • Mile 2: 8:08
  • Mile 3: 9:28 <– Seriously, what happened in Mile 3?
  • Mile 4: 8:34

And to finish us off, here’s me post-race…pretty stoked with my time and hoping the next race isn’t so windy.

Not the best pic ever but, hey, I just ran 4 miles!

4 thoughts on “First Race of the Year

Leave a Reply

