Here’s to St. Pat!

As per usual on a Friday, I planned to run down my weekend activities with you and share today’s 30 Day Blog Challenge. But before we get to that, I want to ask each of you to please pray for all those in Japan who have been struck by the devastating earthquake and tsunami. Next, I ask you to consider going one step further and helping them through this difficult time. Here is a list of organizations to help Japan: Please follow this link.

While I do believe that in the face of disaster we should strive to smile and attempt to focus on positive things (e.g. silly little blogs such as this), I do send out this plea to each of you to take a few minutes to give thanks for your blessings and consider using some of your good fortune to help those in need.

Speaking of good fortune, the coming weekend is full of wonderful events that I am so very, very thankful for! My second favorite holiday, celebrating my second favorite saint, St. Patrick, is next Thursday and we’ll be celebrating all day tomorrow at our local St. Patty’s Day Parade here in FC.

(Photo via Horticulture)

This celebration ties in perfectly with today’s 30 Day Blog Challenge….we’re supposed to post a picture of something you hate. Well, due to my phobia of the thing I hate most, I cannot post a picture of it: a snake. Sorry. But, I do want to give a shout out to ol’ St. Pat because one of the famous legends of his saintly life is that he drove all the snakes from Ireland. My kinda guy.

In the spirit of St. Patty’s Day, my toast is an old, Irish Blessing:

“May you be poor in misfortune, rich in blessings, slow to make enemies and quick to make friends. And may you know nothing but happiness from this day forward.”

Once again, I’m going to ask that you take this blessing one step further and help bring happiness to others starting today and going forward. Check out ways to help Japan here.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

